The Aussie Book Tag

How could I ever pass up on this post? (posted on the eighth of May – the true ‘Straya Day (May 8. May8. M8. MAAAAAAAAAATE))

I got this post from Beth at Reading Every Night

Koala: A Character You Want to Cuddle All Day Long

Call from ‘Magisterium’ by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black.

I tried to think of someone from a series that I hadn’t already mentioned, but Call is my precious child and I had to do it.

Next book tag I do, I’m going to make it a rule that I’m not allowed to choose any books that I’ve already talked about. Especially not Magisterium or The Lunar Chronicles, which I’m pretty sure I’ve brought up in every single post (seriously though; read them).

Vegemite: A Book You Love That Everyone Else Hates

(Some ‘Strayans don’t like Vegemite. I am 1000000% not one of them.)

Pretty much anything by Shakespeare, but my personal favourite is Hamlet.

hamlet cover

Every year in English class, everyone dies a little inside as the teacher presents us with yet another one of Shakespeare’s works; everyone except for me. (How can you people NOT love it though? Everyone dies it’s great!)

 

Socceroos: Favourite Fictional Squad

 

Don’tsayTheLunarChroniclesAddilyndon’tsayTheLunarChroniclesAddilyndon’tsayTheLunarChroniclesAddilyndon’tsayTheLunarChroniclesAddilyn-

The Rampion crew from ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ by Marissa Meyer.

I love all of these characters and the way they interact and just aah the character dynamics.

Southern Cross: Most Recent Five Star Read

‘Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian’ by Rick Riordan.

percy jackson and the last olympian cover.jpg

This book wasn’t perfect or anything, but I did absolutely love it and also I adore Percy. It was also great to see Clarisse again, because I love her and she hadn’t been around as much since the second book. Also, I loved The Part. You know The Part. The Part Where Percy and Annabeth Have Their First Proper Kiss and the Other Campers Throw Them in the Lake and They Kiss Again Underwater Because Son of Poseidon? Yes, that part.

Since reading this one I’ve also read Lost Hero and Son of Neptune, which were both good too, but there was a serious lack of percabeth.

Patriotism: Favourite Book by an Author From Your Country

I generally have no idea where the author of the book I’m reading is from, so I’m just going to put literally the only book I’ve read where I know the author is Australian (well, French-Australian) as my answer;

‘The Phar Lap Mystery’ by Sophie Masson.

the phar lap mystery cover.jpg

I like the story of Phar Lap, and I remember liking this book, however, it must not have left much of an impression on me as I don’t remember much of what actually happened in this book at all.

Echidna: A Book You Like to Look At, but it Physically Hurts to Read

‘The Selection Series’ by Kiera Cass.

the selection series covers 2.jpg

These books all have really nice covers (although I don’t like the dress in The Elite and the model on The Crown doesn’t look like how I picture Eadlyn) but they can be very frustrating. One of the biggest plot points in the first three is just one big love triangle, and America is frustratingly indecisive. The Heir didn’t bother me too much, although Eadlyn was a prick at first, but the insta-love in The Crown was terrible.

Despite all of that, I did still enjoy the series for reasons unknown to me.

Ned Kelly: A Book That is Really Grim, but an Iconic Must-Read

I… am not entirely sure what is meant by an ‘iconic must-read’. Again, this is just my brain failing to process things because I should be sleeping right now.

Great Barrier Reef: A Book That Had You Gaping in Awe

(Man I would love to go to the Great Barrier Reef someday).

The entire Chronicles of Narnia, but specifically ‘The Last Battle’ by C.S. Lewis.

narnia the last battle.jpg

Before Narnia I had basically only read picture books (I was really really young, okay?) so Narnia was my first ever proper read, and it left me literally gaping at the blank pages they leave at the end of a book. I’d never read anything like it, and from this, my reading obsession was born.

Pavlova: A Light and Fluffy Book That You Can’t Help but Love

‘Princess for Hire’ by Lindsey Leavitt

princess for hire cover.jpg

I don’t remember much of what happened in this book as I haven’t read it since I was a kid, but I do know that I loved it and I can’t help but look back on it with fondness.

Milo: A Genre/Author You Reach For to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Fantasy is always my go-to. The great thing about fantasy is that the author can write anything they want to, and as a result, fantasy books can all be completely different from each other, which is great for getting out of slumps.

 

 

Addilyn out.

(P.S. Vegemite until the day I die!)

Leave a Reply

