The Reader Confession Tag

I got this tag from Beth at Reading Every Night

the reader confession tag pretty.png

Have you ever damaged a book?

Unlike every single other book lover I know (and pretty much everyone I’ve ever met who’s so much as touched a book), I don’t believe in constructing a protective force-field around my books, lest so much as a fly come into contact with them.

I believe that books are for reading, not for sitting on my shelf looking pretty and gathering dust.

Besides, a slightly battered book is a well-loved book, so yeah, I’ve been known to break a spine or two.

That being said, there are still certain things that bring me physical pain to witness – like when my big sister doggy-ears her pages. WHY WOULD YOU HURT A BOOK IN THIS WAY!?

 

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Well, technically it wasn’t me, but my friend, who damaged it (he fell over and landed on my bag and book, bending the cover and ripping the first page in the process), but I still felt REALLY bad. I fixed it up with sticky-tape, but I wanted to buy her a new one (unfortunately, I am poor).

 

How long does it take you to read a book?

Devastatingly, I’m a really slow reader TT^TT

Whenever I get a new book, all I want to do is devour it; but I know it’ll take me a while to get through. Your average 400-500 page book will take me half a week to a week, depending on how much I like it.

It’s not even that I’m a slow reader, it’s just a combination of the fact that I spend all of my time either at school or working on assignments (TT^TT) and the fact that when I DO read (which is whenever I possibly can), it consists of about 5% reading and 95% getting distracted by anything and everything, and/or zoning out, and/or having to re-read sentences over and over because they aren’t sticking in my brain. I wish I could concentrate better; I would get through books so much faster (this causes me genuine sadness).

 

Books that you haven’t finished?

No matter how terrible, I’m too stubborn to ever leave a book half-read; however, sometimes I’m so excited to start a new book that I just won’t be able to finish the one I’m working on first; as such, I almost always have ten to twenty books going at once (especially since I always end up re-reading old ones too), with one to three of them being favourites that I focus on more than the others.

As it’s quicker than listing ALL of the books I’m reading at the moment, these are the three main ones I’m currently focusing on;

*’Skulduggery Pleasant’ by Derek Landy. I once tried to read this series, but got distracted by other books, and so I never got past halfway through the third one. Now I’m re-reading the first one so that I can try again to make my way through the series.

*’Misery’ by Stephen King. I started reading this one a long time ago, but got distracted by another book pretty early on. As I love Stephen King, and as what I’ve read of the book so far was good, I’m now going back and trying again to read it.

*’Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth’ by Rick Riordan. A while ago I finally decided to read the Percy Jackson series, and I’ve LOVED it so far. Unfortunately I was unable to get my hands on this (the fourth) book for a long time; but now I finally have it! I tried to make myself wait until I’d finished the first Skuldiggery-doggz before reading it, but I just couldn’t wait to find out what happened next!

So there you have my chaotic reading methods ^^”

 

Hyped/Popular books you didn’t like?

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; ‘Matched’ by Ally Condie was overrated, poorly executed, and I didn’t like it.

matched smaller

 

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

When I was about ten or eleven, I picked up ‘The School for Good and Evil’ by Soman Chainani. I loved the book and wished there would be a sequel, but knew from the neat ending that there never would be.

It wasn’t until I was about fourteen or fifteen that I realised that there WAS, in fact, a sequel – and a third book after that!

However, being a young teen, I was acutely aware of the fact that this book was aimed at (approximately) twelve year olds; and I was clearly SO much older and more mature than that *playfully rolls eyes at past self… even though I’m still only seventeen*, so I only ever read those books at home, and never admitted to anyone else that I was reading them.

school for good and evil series.jpg

 

How many books do you own?

I have absolutely no idea.

A lot. A lot a lot.

Every part of my room is stuffed with books.

I’m not kidding. Every shelf full, stacks on every desk, stacks beside every desk, stacks in every corner of the room and all along the sides, drawers that used to be for clothes now full of books, stacks of books under the bed, stacks of books inside and on top of the wardrobe – just, books everywhere, okay?

Not to mention my old playroom from when my siblings and I were kids (used to be full of our toys, now full of my books).

 

Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

I’m actually a very fast reader (something about reading just clicked in my head from a very early age, and I’m grateful for that every single day), however it still takes really long for me to get through books (see above).

 

Do you like to buddy read?

I’ve never read a book at the same time as someone else, but I can’t imagine it working very well. I mean, what are the odds of both of you reading at the same pace? However, I do love getting my friends to read a book I love and then screaming about it with them xD ^^”

 

Do you read better in your head or out loud?

I’ve never really understood the whole reading out loud thing. It’s much slower than reading in your head, and you can’t do it anywhere but the privacy of your own room. Some people say they can’t concentrate unless they read aloud, but I personally find the noise even more distracting.

 

If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

WHAT?! Only one?? TT^TT

I want to choose one from The Lunar Chronicles or Magisterium (my two favourite series of all time), but how can I choose just ONE?

As much as it physically hurts me to choose just one, I think I’ll go with ‘Winter’ by Marissa Meyer (from The Lunar Chronicles) because of all of the Magisterium and Lunar Chronicles books, Winter is the longest at 823 pages.

winter awesome book cover

Let it be said that whoever wrote this question was definitely Satan.

 

 

Addilyn out.

6 comments

  1. Great answers for this tag Addilyn. It was really interesting reading more about your reading habits.
    There have admittedly been a few books it’s taken me half a week or so to finish. But for the most part I can read really quickly, also I can’t believe you can have up to ten books on the go at once. I can barely read two at the same time I can’t imagine having ten or more half finished. Still I guess if it works for you then it works for you right?
    I had a hard time picking one favourite book of all-time, but I think Winter is a good pick overall.
    Again great answers for this tag! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • AddilynOfHufflepuff · April 1

      Yeah, people are always shocked when I say that I read that many at once, but I can’t seem to help it! I can never concentrate on just one thing at a time ^^”

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well I suppose if it works for you then it works for you right? I still can’t imagine it but does it help you get through books quicker if you have that many on the go at once?

        Like

      • AddilynOfHufflepuff · April 2

        I honestly have no idea. This is just the way I’ve always done it, so I don’t know if it would be faster to focus on just one. Personally, I can’t imagine focusing on one. To me, that sounds near impossible – how does anyone focus on just one thing for that long?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I suppose I read most books quite quickly so I’m not really focused on one for that long you know? Normally it’s just a day or two.
        I guess people read differently, you can’t imagine reading one book at a time but I can’t imagine reading ten/twenty odd. 🙂

        Like

      • AddilynOfHufflepuff · April 3

        Yeah it’s funny that way ^^

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

