Bookish Book Lover Tag

I got this tag from Beth at Reading Every Night

bookish book lover tag cute pretty picture books.png

Rules:

  • Use the original banner.
  • Answer the questions!
  • Use lots of book covers.
  • Tag your friends.

What book are you currently reading?

‘Percy Jackson & the Lightning Thief’ by Rick Riordan.

percy-jackson-lightning-thief

This book has been on my TBR list since the dawn of time, and I’m really glad that I’ve finally gotten around to reading it. So far it’s really good, although predictable.

 

What’s the last book you finished?

‘Magisterium: The Iron Trial’ by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare.

magisterium the iron trial

I decided to reread this book for about the millionth time, this time with the plan of looking for foreshadowing of the twist in the most recent book. (Going hunting for foreshadowing is definitely my favourite part about rereading).

 

Favourite book you read this year?

Damn, that’s a hard one. I’ve read so many amazing books, and I don’t exactly keep track of what I read when. (Btw, as it’s still kind of early in 2017, I’m including 2016 in this). I think I’d have to go with ‘Stars Above’ by Marissa Meyer.

stars above I MUST OBTAIN THIS BOOK.jpg

Granted, this was a collection of short stories, rather than a one-plotline type book, but one of these stories involved a certain otp wedding which destroyed me inside and has not stopped dropkicking me in the feels since.

 

What genre have you read most this year?

Definitely fantasy; I’ve always gravitated toward that genre.

 

What genre have you read least this year?

Definitely non-fiction. In fact, aside from schoolbooks and the occasional astronomy book (one of very few topics I find interesting enough to research outside of school), I don’t think I’ve read any non-fiction. It’s just not as exciting.

 

What genre do you want to read more of?

I’d like to read more dark stories. I’ve noticed that most of the books I’ve read over the last year or two have been very light – which is great, but I love darker books too and I like to have a bit of both.

 

How many books have you read this year, and what’s your goal?

I honestly have no idea. I don’t track how many books I’ve read or set reading goals, because I don’t want it to start feeling like a chore.

 

What’s the last book you bought?

‘Throne of Glass’ by Sarah J Maas.

throne-of-glass-awesome

Throne of Glass, much like Percy Jackson, is a very popular series that I’m constantly seeing on the various fandom blogs and instagram accounts that I follow. So this year I’ve decided to, finally, jump aboard the bandwagon and read these series’.

 

What book are you saving up to buy next?

My local bookstore recently expanded, and they have a new section that caused me to have a major fangirl freakout in the middle of the store xD

In this section they have the original Alice tales, the Grimm fairy tales, and all of your typical classics such as Pride and Prejudice. I really want the fairy tale collection and the wonderland collection because I love those stories and the books are SO PRETTY. They’re designed in that older style and the edges of the pages have that beautiful shiny… stuff. (Is it obvious that I’m writing this at 3am?)

The fairy tales page edges are gold and the wonderland ones are red and it’s just all so beautiful inside and out.

In short, I really want these books; but they’re about $50 each – and I am waaaay too broke for that haha.

 

How many books did you check out last library visit?

I actually haven’t been to the library in a while, as I’m still trying to work my way through all of the books on my TBR list that I already own but haven’t read yet.

 

What’s a book you can’t wait to read?

‘Wires and Nerve’ by Marissa Meyer.

wires-and-nerve

I recently ordered this book on Amazon and now I have to wait (and wait, and wait) for it to arrive – and that’s the hardest part. I’m very impatient when it comes to waiting for packages to arrive, which is a shame, because they always take forever since I live in Australia.

 

What’s a series you’d recommend to everyone?

‘The Chaos Walking Trilogy’ by Patrick Ness.

chaos walking trilogy.jpg

I love this series and adore Patrick Ness, so of course I never fail to recommend the Chaos Walking Trilogy to anyone and everyone.

 

Who’s an author you’re hoping writes more?

This is less one author and more two authors.

Cassandra Clare and Holly Black collaborated to write the Magisterium series, and I love Magisterium beyond all reason. This series is just amazing, and I’d love to see them tackle another book/s together after the series ends.

 

A few books your heart adores?

Some books that will always be close to my heart are (unsurprisingly): The Lunar Chronicles, Magisterium, Harry Potter, Narnia, the Chaos Walking Trilogy, The Rest of us Just Live Here, and that’s all I can think of off the top of my head.

 

What series’ coming conclusion makes you sad?

Magisterium (sorry to mention it so many times in one post) is one of those series’ that I simultaneously do and don’t want to end, because I’m dying to find out what happens but I’ll also be devastated when it ends.

 

What books are on your wish-list?

I already sort of talked about this one in the question on what books I’m saving up for so…

 

Addilyn out.

5 comments

  1. Great picks for this tag Addilyn, I really hope you enjoy Percy Jackson. That’s a series I only recently read myself but it’s become one of my favourites! What do you think so far? I hope you enjoy Throne of Glass when you get around to that one as well. Again it’s another favourite series of mine! 😀
    Also wow that new section in your bookstore sounds amazing. I’d definitely be fangirling myself if my local bookstore did something like that!
    I love the Chaos Walking trilogy, and of course I’d recommend that to everyone, and oh I hope your copy of Wires and Nerve arrives soon. It’s never easy waiting for something like that is it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • AddilynOfHufflepuff · February 17

      I love it so far 🙂 I’m about halfway through the third book now and showing no signs of stopping xD
      Yes, waiting is the worst! But it’s okay because it arrived yesterday and it was SO GOOD! Have you read it yet? Because I don’t want to fangirl about it and give you spoilers ^_^
      However, what I will say is this: The kiko is REAL and Thorne gives me life ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh that is good to hear! 😀
        I haven’t read it yet, it’s still sitting on my bookshelves because there are a couple of other books I need to get around to first, but I’m glad it finally arrived and I’m really glad you enjoyed it as well. I can’t wait to get around to it myself. 😀 ❤

        Like

      • AddilynOfHufflepuff · February 18

        Thank you 🙂 Let me know when you do get around to it because aaaaaah
        I don’t think it really hit me until I was reading it that we were really getting new content, and it was great ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right, and don’t worry I will let you know both when I start and finish this one!
        Definitely great! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

