Top Ten Tuesday – Books at the Top of my TBR List

I think someone needs to define the word “Tuesday” to me.

 

Also; good news! The day that I was taking my laptop in to get fixed (it stopped functioning altogether for a while) it magically fixed itself! (If you saw my last post you’ll know that it was acting really weird). I don’t want to jinx it but I’m really happy that it’s up and running again 🙂

Seriously though, why do things always fix themselves the second you seek help? I feel like the universe is just bored and needs a laugh.

 

Okay; ten (*cough*seven) books at the top of my tbr list.

1) ‘When The Moon Was Ours’ by Anna-Marie McLemore.

when-the-moon-was-ours

Beth at Reading Every Night has mentioned this book a few times, and has made me eager to read it.

 

2) ‘The Alchemyst’ by Michael Scott.

the alchemyst.jpg

So I bought this book a while ago (mainly because of the cover, to be perfectly honest, but also because I love books that involve magic) and mentioned it in passing to my friends, and most of them immediately started singing the book’s praises, when I hadn’t even known that they’d read it. In short, their reactions have made me very enthusiastic to read this book.

 

3) ‘Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief’ by Rick Riordan.

percy jackson lightning thief.jpg

This book series is extremely popular, and I’ve been meaning to get around to it for a long time. I find all things mythology and/or religion related very interesting, and apparently there’s a lot of Greek mythology in this, so I’ll probably really like it.

 

4) ‘Etiquette and Espionage’ by Gail Carriger.

etiquette and espionage.jpg

This is just a random book that I found at a bookstore but it sounds really good. To put in a quote from the blurb found on goodreads; “At Mademoiselle Geraldine’s, young ladies learn to finish…everything.”

 

5) ‘Firstlife’ by Gena Showalter.

img_5443

Another random find, this book has a really interesting concept and I’m excited to find out if it is what I think it is.

 

6) ‘Misery’ by Stephen King.

misery cover nice.jpg

I actually started reading this book a while ago, but didn’t get very far in as I got distracted by a new release in a series that I love.

 

7) ‘Hunger’ by Michael Grant.

hunger.jpg

Hunger is the second book in the Gone series, and whilst Gone wasn’t exactly mind-blowing, I still really enjoyed it and look forward to seeing what happens next.

Also, this may be considered a minor spoiler but, while reading the preview first chapter (you know how sometimes at the end of a book they’ll add the first chapter of the next in the series?) of this book, I just found it amusing. You see, the three main characters were driving off to inspect something, and there was also a new character there with them.

Not long later, it became apparent that a character death was imminent, and I thought to myself, “Wow, I wonder who’s going to die!? Main character number one, main character number two, main character number three; or random new guy who just showed up three pages ago?”

 

 

One day, one of these lists will actually reach ten, god dammit.

Addilyn out.

Leave a Reply

